Skip to Content

Health Services

Health Services Overview

Alamogordo Public Schools provides health care services through the use of registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and health assistants. Our registered nurses oversee health services at multiple school locations.

Who Are APS School Nurses?

School Nurses are registered nurses licensed by the New Mexico Board of Nursing. They are experienced in pediatric, public, and mental health nursing with strong health promotion, assessment and referral skills. As specialized nursing professionals, they advocate for children’s health and safety within the educational setting. The goal of the School Nurses is to have students healthy, in school, and ready to learn.

Health Services provided by the School Nurses:

  • Coordinate delivery of health-related services provided to students.
  • Support educational success and reduce health-related barriers to learning.
  • Provide health-related education to students and staff in individual and group settings.
  • Consult with and train clinic assistants and other school personnel regarding health issues, procedures, and medication administration.
  • Conduct scoliosis, vision, and hearing screenings, referrals, and follow-up for students.
  • Review immunization and health records for compliance.
  • Collaborate with the School Social Worker to provide community resources to students and their families.
  • Conduct home visits as needed to assist families with health-related concerns.
  • Participate in the development of the school district health policies and guidelines.
Florence “Flo” Nightingale mobile nursing unit

Meet Florence “Flo” Nightingale

Director of Health Services, Lisa Patch, introduced the city of Alamogordo to a 40-foot Winnebago-turned-mobile-nurse’s station during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic to fight coronavirus and help keep kids healthy. In a time where students could not get to nurses, the nurses figured out a way to get to students.

Dubbed Florence “Flo” Nightingale, after the godmother of modern nursing, the mobile nursing unit can be found traveling around town distributing food boxes to hungry kids and families, administering necessary vaccines, and providing other essential services to the community.

Nurses seating in the mobile nursing unit People in front of the mobile nursing unit

Staff

Lisa Patch

Lisa Patch

Director of Health Services

lisa.patch@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6095

Picture Placeholder

Idalis Salazar

Administrative Assistant

idalis.salazar@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6094

Picture Placeholder

Sandra Wilder

Mental Health Coordinator

sandra.wilder@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6097

Picture Placeholder

Hayley Blevins

D.O.-Counselor-Social Worker

hayley.blevins@alamogordoschools.org

575-491-9030

Picture Placeholder

Denise Narvaez

D.O. Social Worker/Family Liaison

denise.narvaez@alamogordoschools.org

575-430-1986

Picture Placeholder

Monica Steeby

Family Engagement Coordinator

monica.steeby@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Joanne Gronewold

D.O. Nurse

joanne.gronewold@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Helen Romero

D.O. Health Assistant

helen.romero@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Hope Gil

Health Assistant- AHS

hope.gil@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Jana Summers

MS Counselor- CMS

jana.summers@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6318

Picture Placeholder

Jeremy Patton

MS Counselor- CMS

jeremy.patton@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6317

Picture Placeholder

Tiffany Alatorre

CMS Health Assistant/ Assistant Swimming Coach

tiffany.alatorre@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Jesus Suarez

MS Counselor/ MVMS 7th Grade Boys Basketball Coach

jesus.suarez@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6417

Picture Placeholder

Juanita Blankenship

MVMS Health Assistant

juanita.blankenship@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Katherine Walker

MS Counselor- HMS

katherine.carnahan@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Samantha Bruce

HES & HMS- Nurse

samantha.bruce@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6204

Picture Placeholder

Stacey Lucas

BV Health Assistant

stacey.lucas@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Lori Furr

DSE Nurse

lori.furr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

April Feagan

DSE- Health Assistant

april.feagan@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Regina Mares

Elementary Counselor- DSE

regina.mares@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5752

Picture Placeholder

Hannah Van Leeuwen

Health Assistant- HES

hannah.vanleeuwen@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Bobbie McNatt

La Luz- Health Assistant

bobbie.mcnatt@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Jennifer Parraz

Elementary Counselor- NES

jennifer.parraz@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Kathy Overbay

SIE Health Assistant

kathy.overbay@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Teresa Hopkin

Elementary Counselor- SHE

teresa.hopkin@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Erica Garcia

SHE- Health Assistant

erica.garcia@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Tina Spitsberg

Elementary Counselor- YES

tena.spitsberg@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Kevin Morrison

YES Health Assistant

kevin.morrison@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Bridgette Jones

Contract Health Services

bridgette.jones.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Cathy Holmberg

Contract Health Services

cathy.holmberg.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Kathryn Hayman

Contract Health Services

kathryn.hayman.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

William Henchar

Contract Health Services

william.henchar.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Perry Lawson

Contract Health Services

perry.lawson.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Sign up for Alerts

Subscribe to receive text messages and alerts from the district

Subscribe
Alamogordo Icon