Skip to Content

Teaching & Learning

Teaching & Learning Overview

In collaboration with teachers and building administrators, Alamogordo Public Schools Teaching and Learning Department has the general responsibility for the instructional material adoption process, revision of curriculum maps, approval of all courses offered for credit, and staff development related to curriculum and instruction. Teaching and Learning also support various programs to develop and improve teaching and learning in the district.

Teaching & Learning strives to:

  • Set strategy for academic instruction and secondary reform. 
  • Align all instruction and programs to effectively support and increase high student achievement. 
  • Provide leadership, oversight, and direction for the overall planning of curriculum, instruction, professional and leadership development, and support programs. 
  • Use data to determine the effectiveness of programs and initiatives.

Curriculum & Instruction

The Curriculum & Instruction Department is committed to excellence in teaching and learning. Curriculum & Instruction oversees the implementation of state standards and focuses on instructional best practices and works to provide a curriculum designed to engage and ignite learning opportunities for all students.

  • Technology Innovation
  • Student Assessment
  • Career & Technical Education
  • Comprehensive Literacy State Development Grant (CLSD)
  • Instructional Development & Evaluation

Staff

Pamela Renteria

Pamela Renteria

Deputy Superintendent for Teaching and Learning

pamela.renteria@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6012

Picture Placeholder

Irma Montoya

Senior Assistant to the Deputy Superintendent

irma.montoya@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6013

Picture Placeholder

Marla Garcia

Administrative Assistant to the Curriculum & Instruction Director

marla.garcia@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6034

Picture Placeholder

Carrie Rowe

T & L Coordinator/ District Testing Coordinator

carrie.rowe@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6035

Jessica Lopez

Jessica Lopez

Coordinator of Innovation and Technology

jessica.lopez@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6031

Picture Placeholder

Manuela Klaassen

CTE Coordinator

manuela.klaassen@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6007

Picture Placeholder

Sarah Johnston

Instructional Coach

sarah.johnston@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Laura Kirkpatrick

Instructional Coach

laura.kirkpatrick@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Charles Turpin

Truancy Officer

charles.turpin@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6528

Dr. Christina Calentine

Dr. Christina Calentine

Principal- Alamogordo High School

christina.calentine@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6505

Rey Gomez

Rey Gomez

Principal- Chaparral Middle School

rey.gomez@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6305

Danielle Kusmak

Danielle Kusmak

Principal- Mountain View Middle

danielle.kusmak@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6405

Dr. Whitney Anderson

Dr. Whitney Anderson

Principal- Holloman Middle School

whitney.anderson@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6205

Picture Placeholder

Manuela Sanchez

Principal- Buena Vista Elementary

manuela.sanchez@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5105

Kaye Crescelius

Kaye Crescelius

Principal- Desert Star Elementary

kaye.crecelius@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5755

Michael Crabtree

Michael Crabtree

Principal- La Luz Elementary & High Rolls Mt Park Elementary

michael.crabtree@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5305

Debra Rottland

Debra Rottland

Principal- North Elementary & Stepping Stones PreSchool

debra.rottland@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5405

Melissa Cole

Melissa Cole

Principal- Sierra Elementary

melissa.cole@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5805

Catherine Diaz

Catherine Diaz

Principal- Sunset Hills Elementary

catherine.diaz@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5605

Cresta Hooser

Cresta Hooser

Principal- Yucca Elementary

cresta.hooser@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5905

Miguel (RJ) Baca

Miguel (RJ) Baca

Assistant Principal- Alamogordo High School

miguel.baca@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6527

Roman Renteria

Roman Renteria

Assistant Principal- Alamogordo High School

roman.renteria@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6538

April Shay

April Shay

Assistant Principal- Alamogordo High School

april.shay@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6512

Picture Placeholder

Karen Middlebrooks

Assistant Principal- Mountain View Middle School

karen.middlebrooks@alamogordoschools.org

Lisa Fisher

Lisa Fisher

Assistant Principal- Desert Star Elementary

lisa.fisher@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5762

Sign up for Alerts

Subscribe to receive text messages and alerts from the district

Subscribe
Alamogordo Icon