Skip to Content

Student Nutrition

Student Nutrition Services Overview

We are looking forward to serving our students healthy, fun nutritious meals that meet the USDA meal pattern standards.

The Alamogordo Public Schools Student Nutrition Services Department provides breakfast and lunch for all students who attend District Schools. The department also provides summer lunch program meals at sites around the city of Alamogordo.

Redefining Campus Dining

Student Nutrition is more than just a sack lunch or a tray from the school cafeteria. It is taking the time to adequately plan, prepare and provide nutrition based on dietary guidelines from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and other health professionals to provide your student the best lunch possible. From the moment you walk in one of our dining facilities, you are transported from the hustle and bustle of campus life to the comfort of a friendly neighborhood restaurant - or a trendy downtown food truck. Receive our premiere standard of service and food, but in an atmosphere, that’s been designed to match.

Meet “F.R.E.D.” Food Truck

A new addition to the APS dining experience is “Food Ready to Eat and Delicious” (F.R.E.D.), funded by the district’s food service provider, A’viands. This on-campus food truck allows the district to provide customizable meals in a setting meant to keep students safer and more academically focused. Enjoy familiar favorites and regional foods from the comfort of your school site.

F.R.E.D. Food Truck F.R.E.D. Food Truck 2

Free & Reduced Meals

USDA has issued a Nationwide waiver to allow all students to eat free for the 2021-22 school year regardless of school or income eligibility.

The following schools are part of the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) Program and all students at these schools are free status regardless of the USDA waiver:

  • Academy Del Sol,
  • Buena Vista Elementary,
  • Chaparral Middle School,
  • Desert Star Elementary,
  • La Luz Elementary,
  • Mountain View Middle School,
  • North Elementary,
  • Sierra Elementary,
  • Yucca Elementary, and
  • Sunset Hills Elementary

All students at the above schools will be considered under free status and will not be required to fill out an income eligibility application to qualify for any state programs such as the P-EBT program.

You may apply online for free or reduced status (one application per household is required). Please use the student's legal name when completing the application. Applications are accepted throughout the school year should there be a change of income, such as reduction/increase in salary, furlough, unemployment, etc., or household size. You may submit a new application at any time.

It may take up to ten (10) calendar days to process (the 10 days do not begin until the application is received at the Student Nutrition Administrative office). A result letter will be mailed to the address on file, showing the results of the application. During the processing period, please plan accordingly by putting money on your child’s Titan account or sending lunch with your child. No cash will be accepted in any cafeteria.

In accordance with federal regulations, Free and Reduced School Meal Applications may be verified at any time during the school year. Selection is random and notices will be sent out by regular mail anytime verification is required. In addition, you have the right to appeal the decision should you disagree with the results of your free/reduced application.

You may request a fair hearing in writing to:

Student Nutrition Services
P.O. Box 650
Alamogordo, NM 88310

If you should have any questions, please call the Student Nutrition Department at (575) 812-6085

Staff

Sandra Davis

Sandra Davis

Student Nutrition Coordinator

sandra.davis@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6085

Picture Placeholder

Sylvia Gerber

Administrative Assistant

sylvia.gerber@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6084

Picture Placeholder

Melida Rivera

AHS- Food Service Supervisor

melida.rivera@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-6509

Picture Placeholder

Sydney Ferraro

Food Service Worker- AHS

sydney.ferraro.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Rebecca Killebrew

AHS- Food Service Worker

rebecca.killebrew.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Paula Cholewa

Food Service Worker- AHS

Picture Placeholder

Yolanda Rocha

Food Service Worker- AHS

Picture Placeholder

Micah Getty

AHS- Food Service Worker

micah.getty.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Michela Kosmas

AHS- Food Service Worker

Picture Placeholder

Ashley Robinson

AHS- Food Service Supervisor

Picture Placeholder

Reyna Odelia

AHS- Food Service Supervisor

Picture Placeholder

Zachary Tankersley

AHS- Food Service Worker

Picture Placeholder

Genoveva Moreno De Plasencia

MVMS- Food Service Worker

genoveva.plasencia@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Julie Lott

AHS- Food Service Worker

julie.lott@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Florame Johnson

AHS- Food Service Worker

florame.johnson.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Josephine Cole

AHS- Food Service Worker

josephine.cole@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

JesusMarie Guerra

CMS- Food Service Worker

jesus.guerra@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Brenda Smith

CMS- Food Service Supervisor

brenda.smith@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-6309

Picture Placeholder

Jacqueline Melendrez

CMS- Food Service Worker

jacqueline.melendrez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Rosalinda Mendoza

CMS- Food Service Worker

rosalinda.mendoza@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Joel Mee

Food Service Worker- CMS

Picture Placeholder

Marissa Pease

MVMS- Food Service Supervisor

marissa.pease@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6409

Picture Placeholder

Karen Smith

MVMS- Food Service Worker

karen.smith@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Patricia Jennings

HMS- Food Service Supervisor

patricia.jennings@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-6209

Picture Placeholder

David Smith

HMS- Food Service Worker

david.smith@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Danell Virden

BV- Food Service Supervisor

danell.virden@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-5109

Picture Placeholder

Mary Peaslee

BV- Food Service Worker

mary.peaslee@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Elizabeth Hayman

DSE- Food Service Worker

elizabeth.hayman@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Rowena Varin

DSE- Food Service Worker

rowena.varin@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Margie Hoersten

DSE- Food Service Worker

margie.hoersten@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Scott Brady

HES- Food Service Worker

scott.brady.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Amanda Singleton

HES- Food Service Worker

amanda.singleton.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Rosario Peralez

HES- Food Service Worker

rosario.peralez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Arturo Balderamma

HES- Food Service Worker

arturo.balderrama.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Patsy Parson

La Luz- Food Service Worker

patsy.parson.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Joanna Roman

La Luz/ HRMP- Food Service Supervisor

joanna.roman@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-5309

Picture Placeholder

Julie Arreola

La Luz- Food Service Worker

julie.arreola@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Antonio Flores

La Luz- Food Service Worker

Picture Placeholder

Rosie Vasquez

NES- Food Service Worker

rosie.vasquez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Kimberly Maynez

SIE- Food Service Supervisor

kimberly.maynez@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-5809

Picture Placeholder

Graciela Rodriguez

SIE- Food Service Worker

graciela.rodriguez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Veronica Sanchez

Food Service Worker- SIE

Picture Placeholder

Patricia Anaya

SHE- Food Service Supervisor

patricia.anaya@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-5609

Picture Placeholder

Corina Silver

SHE- Food Service Worker

corina.silver@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Louise Huff

YES- Food Service Supervisor

louise.huff@alamogordoschools.org

(575) 812-5909

Picture Placeholder

Julie Walters

YES- Food Service Worker

julie.walters@alamogordoschools.org

Sign up for Alerts

Subscribe to receive text messages and alerts from the district

Subscribe
Alamogordo Icon