Skip to Content

Special Education

Special Education Overview

The Special Education Department is committed to giving students with disabilities the means to achieve their annual goals as specified on each student's Individual Education Plan while educating them in the least restrictive environment.

If you have specific concerns related to your child, please reach out to your school principal.

View the Alamogordo Public Schools Special Education Policies and Procedures

504 Plan

View information on 504 plans. 

Accessibility Resources

View accessibility resources for students, parents, and staff. 

Employee Resources

View Principal and Case Manager folders, training materials, and classroom/drive links. 

Individual Education Plan (IEP)

Learn more about the Individual Education Plan.

Intervention Services

Learn more about Intervention Services offered by Alamogordo Public Schools: McKinney-Vento, HOPE, MLSS, and Project Search.  

Parent Resources

View special education resources for families. 

Procedural Safeguards

A brief description of each exceptional program and its eligibility requirements and procedures are available to you. In addition, other procedural safeguards for students with disabilities, including your child's Individual Education Plan (IEP), are provided:

Mission

The Special Education Department builds relationships that foster the trust and confidence of all stakeholders.

Staff

Picture Placeholder

Jaden Chavez

Sign Language Specialist

jaden.chavez.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Steven Starkovich

Steven Starkovich

Director of Special Programs

steven.starkovich@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5975

Picture Placeholder

Elena Sukup

Administrative Assistant

elena.sukup@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6048

Picture Placeholder

Patricia Lyman

Bookkeeper/ Medicaid Specialist

patricia.lyman@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5989

Picture Placeholder

Lorrie LaBelle

Building C Receptionist/ Records

lorrie.labelle@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5971

Picture Placeholder

Richard Stauffacher

School Psychologist

richard.stauffacher@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Lori Myers

School Psychologist

lori.myers@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5497

Picture Placeholder

Stacy Straub

Physical Therapist

stacy.straub@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5994

Picture Placeholder

Brian Burks

Speech Language Pathologist

Brian.Burks@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5489

Picture Placeholder

Emmanuel Davila

IEP Facilitator

emmanuel.davila@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Diana Hammond

IEP Facilitator

diana.hammond@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Sireana Harrell

Facilitator & Special Programs Specialist

sireana.bickham@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5983

Picture Placeholder

Liliana Peavy

IEP Assistant

liliana.peavy@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Marriya Shelland

IEP Assistant

marriya.shelland@alamogordoschools.org

Dawna Dupre

Dawna Dupre

Diagnostician/Interim Stepping Stones Principal

dawna.dupre@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5487

Picture Placeholder

Tiffany Walker

SPED Teacher - Gifted Facilitator

tiffany.walker@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Sara McMaster

IEP Assistant

sarah.mcmaster@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Hope Douglas

Speech Language Pathologist

hope.douglas@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Patricia Friel

Physical Therapist Assistant

Patricia.Friel@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5994

Picture Placeholder

Lydia French

HS SPED Teacher- 18-22 Program

lydia.french@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Jessica Westall

DSE- Speech Language Pathologist

jessica.westall.ctr@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Alan Givens

Speech Language Pathologist/ Audiologist

alan.givens@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5488

Picture Placeholder

Mary Hardwick

Educational Diagnostician

mary.hardwick@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5496

Picture Placeholder

Chrystal Vandergriff

Occupational Therapist

chrystal.vandergriff@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5994

Picture Placeholder

John Madden

Behavior Intervention Specialist

john.madden@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Stacey Kelso

Occupational Therapist

stacey.kelso@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Celeste Lara

Behavior Intervention Specialist

celeste.lara@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Sarah Moralez

Speech Language Pathologist

sarah.moralez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Daniel Parker

Educational Diagnostician

daniel.parker@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-5976

Picture Placeholder

Monica Ragland

Occupational Therapist Assistant

monica.ragland@alamogordoschools.org

575-5994

Picture Placeholder

Kathryn Weaver

Speech Language Pathologist

kathryn.weaver@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Carolyn Derden

Social Worker/Family Liaison

carolyn.derden@alamogordoschools.org

Sign up for Alerts

Subscribe to receive text messages and alerts from the district

Subscribe
Alamogordo Icon