Skip to Content

Safety and Security

Safety & Security Overview

The Alamogordo Public Schools Safety and Security department is charged with the protection of the students, staff, and assets of the Alamogordo Public School district. Our mission encompasses both the physical security of the district as well as occupational safety. We work closely with local, state, and federal agencies to ensure that our school district meets regulatory requirements and utilizes preventative safety measures.


In addition to Campus Security Officers assigned throughout the District, School Resource Officers are assigned permanently at our secondary schools. Through a contractual agreement with the Alamogordo Police Department, uniformed police officers are assigned to our local secondary schools in a law enforcement capacity. The Chief of Safety and Security works closely with the Alamogordo Police Department in order to facilitate the elements of our integrated proactive security initiative.


As required by law, Alamogordo Public Schools has an Emergency Response Plan to inform personnel of necessary action to take in the event of a critical incident. The plan is based upon the standards assigned by the New Mexico Public Education Department and FEMA. All schools within the district are regularly required to participate in emergency drills in order to be prepared in a crisis situation.
 

The safety and security of students and staff are a top priority in Alamogordo Public Schools.

Staff

Picture Placeholder

Doyle Syling

Chief of Safety and Security

doyle.syling@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6075

Picture Placeholder

Kelly Scharmack

Administrative Assistant

kelly.scharmack@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6074

Picture Placeholder

Benjamin Borunda

District Safety Assistant

benny.borunda@alamogordoschools.org

575-812-6077

Picture Placeholder

Israel Trujillo

Security Supervisor

israel.trujillo@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Mya Wilkins

AHS- Campus Liaison

mya.wilkins@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Joseph Monforti

AHS- Campus Security

joseph.monforti@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Leonard Turner

AHS- Campus Liaison/ JV Girls Basketball Coach

lenard.turner@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Fernie Trujillo

AHS- Campus Liaison

fernie.trujillo@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Jeorge Taylor

AHS- Campus Liaison

jeorge.taylor@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Timothy Riddlebaugh

AHS- Campus Liaison

timothy.riddlebaugh@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Robert Pacheco

AHS- Campus Liaison

Picture Placeholder

Joseph Mendez

AHS- Campus Liaison

joseph.mendez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Anthony Lopez

AHS- Campus Liaison

anthony.lopez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Christopher Lococo

AHS- Campus Liaison

christopher.lococo@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Elizabeth Fernandez

AHS- Campus Liaison

elizabeth.fernandez@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Warren Woods

CMS- Campus Liaison

warren.woods@alamogordoschools.org

Picture Placeholder

Peter Romero

District Office- Campus Liaison

peter.romero@alamogordoschools.org

Sign up for Alerts

Subscribe to receive text messages and alerts from the district

Subscribe
Alamogordo Icon